Catholic Identity

How to Become Catholic

The Catholic Church offers a program entitled “The Rite of Christian Initiation” or RCIA.  This program is designed for adults and older children who are seeking to convert to the Catholic faith.  Classes are taught by our Director of Religious Education, Sister Dorothy Wilkinson.  RCIA begins in the Fall and concludes before the Easter Vigil Mass.  Call the parish office to set up an appointment with Father Hahn.

The program used is called Symbolon.  In the early Church, Christians described their Creed, their summary statement of faith, as the symbolon, the “seal” or “symbol of the faith”. This weekly faith series is called Symbolon because it intends to help bring people deeper into that communion of apostolic faith that has existed for over 2000 years in the Church that Christ founded.

This program is intended for: anyone who wishes to become baptized in the Catholic Church, anyone who is baptized in another faith, tradition and wishes to come into full communion with the Catholic Church, anyone who wishes to deepen their understanding of the Catholic faith, anyone who is interested in learning about the Catholic Church.

Father Hahn with parishioners
Father Hahn with Parishioners

A description of the weekly session being presented will appear in the weekly church bulletin. You are invited to attend any session or the session that sparks your interest. No need to register, no cost, just come and be enriched in your faith. Contact Sister Dorothy 717-394-1742 ext. 222 or [email protected] if you have any questions or to register.

The Seven Sacraments of the Church

“The Holy Spirit prepares the faithful for the sacraments by the Word of God and the faith which welcomes that word in well-disposed hearts. Thus the sacraments strengthen faith and express it.” (CCC 1133)

jesus statue and candle

Explore the links below to discover the Sacraments celebrated at Saint Leo the Great Parish!

  1. Baptism
  2. Reconciliation
  3. Eucharist (Communion)
  4. Confirmation
  5. Matrimony
  6. Anointing of the Sick
  7. Holy Orders

The Holy See (Vatican Website):

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB):

Roman Catholic Diocese of Harrisburg:

Formed – Catholic Faith on Demand:

Android App / iOS App

Catholic Culture:

Knights of Columbus Supreme Council:

Theology On Tap:

Real Life Catholic:

Catholics Come Home:

Laudate – Catholic App for iOS and Android